Click over Logo to return to Home Page

Dr Robert Chesebro - Academic Chairman

Professor - School of Music,  Furman University

Robert Chesebro is Professor of Music at Furman University where he
teaches clarinet and oboe.  He coaches and conducts woodwind ensembles and
serves as Coordinator of Woodwind Studies.  He holds an endowed chair,
The Charles Ezra Daniel Professor of Music.  He received a Bachelor's Degree
Wisconsin State
University at Stevens Point and the Master's and Doctor's
Degrees in Performance from Indiana University

He is currently Principal Clarinet in the Greenville Symphony Orchestra
and has performed frequently with area symphonies, viz., Columbia,
Asheville, Augusta, Hendersonville, and
Kingsport.  He has performed
numerous solo recitals in the Southeast and appeared as soloist with several area
symphonies.  He also performs with the Heritage Chamber Players and the
Galliard Woodwind Quintet.  He has appeared twice in recital at the
International Clarinet Society Clinics.

Dr. Chesebro is well-known as a Conductor/Clinician.  He completed 25
seasons as Musical Director and Conductor of the Carolina Youth Symphony
and now serves as its Artistic Director.  He has also conducted the Furman
University Symphonic Band, the Greenville Symphony Orchestra, the
Hendersonville Symphony, the Greenville Little Theater, the Carolina Ballet
Theater, the South Carolina Beauty Pageant, and several All-State Bands.  He
provides Woodwind Clinics for students with a special "How to Practice" routine,
as well as traditional woodwind fundamentals.

Several of Dr. Chesebro's former students are playing professionally and
many are teaching in colleges and public schools in the Southeast.  Some of those
in professional ranks include Keith Lockhart, Conductor of the Boston Pops,
Elizabeth Crawford Kilpatrick, Tod Kerstetter, Charles Stier, Alvin Keitt,
Margaret Bungay Steele, Frank Watson, Barry Ellis, Jennifer Myers, Amber
Ferenz, Maurita Murphy Meade, et al.  In addition, 42 of his students have won
first chair in the S. C. All-State Band and 26 have won 1st Place in the state level
of the Music Teachers National Association Woodwind Competition.  Five
students have been national finalists.  In 1995, Matthew Hanna, won the
INTERNATIONAL YOUNG ARTIST HIGH SCHOOL COMPETITION.  The competition is annually sponsored by the International Clarinet Association.  It
included 33 entrants from 18 countries.

His principal teachers have been Robert McGinnis, Clark Brody, Henry
Gulick, Eugene Rousseau, Jerry Sirucek, Leonard Sharrow, and Harry Houdeshel. 
He has had additional study with John Denman, Kell-Inge Stevenson, Robert
Marcellus, John Mack, and James Pellerite.   Dr. Chesebro is an Artist / Clinician for Yamaha Corporation.


The benefit of Academic Alliance membership includes:

1. With listing on a special Web Page and Point of Contact entries on the Academic Alliance Partners Data Base, it is possible to communicate and arrange common interest programs with each other, including exchange programs, Master Class Tours, and open contacts on the WKA Core Index Page to make possible connection with other Academic Alliance members.

2. Listings of Points of Contact for enrollment into academic study.

3. Opportunity for students to actively join and make contacts with colleagues from other schools and enjoy the benefits.

4. As an Academic Partner, have unlimited Global email capability for purpose of promoting programs for your benefit, saving vast amounts of money in not having to publish, order mailing labels, and postage nationally and Internationally.

5. Academic Alliance membership FREE.

Other Optional Input from Academic Alliance Partners.

1. Input and Posting of Events, Scholarship winners, and student achievement.

2. Provide an Open Source of Information, Such as Music Libraries, Educational Materials, and more.



Copyright 1999 All rights reserved.
Revised: August 29, 2010